If you wore it the first time around are you too old the second time?

image

Do these glasses look familiar to you? On seeing them, on a rare day out shopping with my husband last week, I was transported back to 1992!

I knew that the 90’s were back in fashion  as I read Grazia and they have featured pages of Rhianna in her neon outfits and the Grunge revival. They also published this handy list of Top 90’s style icons to emulate. However when we walked into Urban Outfitters and were greeted with racks of tie-dye t-shirts, neon-rimmed wayfarer  sunglasses and Fresh Prince of Bel Air t-shirts, my heart leapt with retro joy. Just a glimpse of the sunglasses that I last saw piled up in baskets outside shops in Newquay priced at £1.99 transported me back to being 13 years old and on holiday with my parents. My friend Sarah lost a pair in the sea on a school trip to Brittany and was most distraught. At last she can replace them!

House of Fraser’s men’s department is carrying many different styles of Bermuda shorts and a new Dr Martens store and Vans store have opened up in the Bullring. Just imagine – a whole store dedicated to Dr Martens! They even had tiny baby versions and some that are laced up with ribbons – almost a ballet shoe/ Doc Marten hybrid.  I found myself in Office buying a pair of black, strappy, block heels telling the shop assistant how my friend Paula used to have a pair. A pair which caused her to fall down some steps and break her foot. I bought them anyway.

For the full 90’s effect of course you need brown lipstick and Levi’s 501s for women and a floppy curtain fringe for men. It wouldn’t hurt to throw in a gallon of hairspray and an armful of friendship bracelets. Urban Outfitters are doing a great range of loose ethnic print dresses:  www.urbanoutfitters.co.uk. Crushed velvet and tie dye are definitely the order of the day and if you can carry it off then I urge you to go for it and create the full on Angela Chase/ Courtney Love effect.

It wasn’t until recently that I realised what 90’s style looked like – I guess being part of it made it seem how normal people should dress. But watching an episode of My So Called Life or Friends reveals the era in its full glory, as vividly and distinctly as would the 60’s mini-skirt, 70’s bell-bottom jean or 80’s shoulder pad. Which garments truly sum up the 90’s? Here is my own personal list:

10. Shiny cycling shorts

9. Denim dungarees

8. Tie dye

7. Vans

6. Floral skirts

5. Love beads/ friendship bracelets

4. Nike Air Jordans

3. Flannel shirts

2. Combat boots/ Dr Martens

1. Crushed velvet body suits/ skirts or dresses.

Leave a comment

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

KURT BRINDLEY

surmising with aplomb and nary remorse

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Not Writing But Blogging

Stella Duffy doing this instead of writing ...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Travel Addiction

Feeding my Travel Addiction

Caxton

Mostly language, but not always

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Damyanti Biswas

For lovers of reading, crime writing, crime fiction

Morgen 'with an E' Bailey

Author, Editor, Comp Judge, Mentor, Speaker, Tutor: morgenbailey.com

Nail Your Novel

A blog about writing, publishing, self-publishing and bookish doings by Roz Morris

Anna Mansell

Writer of books some people have read and a few TV shows that nobody's seen.

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

valeriu dg barbu

©valeriu barbu